All posts by Jason Schott

Red Bulls Shutout Atlanta, Inch Closer To First

(Kaku, at left, looking to make a move – @NewYorkRedBulls)

The Red Bulls earned an emotional 2-0 win over Atlanta United to keep their Supporters’ Shield hopes alive on Sunday afternoon at Red Bull Arena.

The Red Bulls are now 19-7-5, with 62 points, just one point behind Atlanta (19-6-6, 63 points) for the best record in the MLS overall and the Eastern Conference.

Continue reading Red Bulls Shutout Atlanta, Inch Closer To First

BrooklynFans Of Books: “Blanket Fort” By Grackle + Pigeon

Blanket Fort: Growing Up Is Optional

By Grackle + Pigeon

Morrow Gift; hardcover, $18.99; available Tuesday, October 2

Grackle + Pigeon, the Brooklyn-based wife-and-husband creative team, have created the first photo book dedicated exclusively to the art and joy of getting cozy in style.

Blanket Fort: Growing Up Is Optional will get your imagination going with practical and beautiful DIY fort ideas for craft lovers of all ages.

This is a one-of-a-kind collection of 25 artisanal blanket forts which will inspire readers to envision cozy hideouts in their living rooms, yards, yoga studios, and work spaces. Each project includes a mix of four color photographs and charming pen-and-ink instructional illustrations.

Grackle + Pigeon have worked together across print, theater, video, and the web to bring artful concepts to fruition. Their work can also be found in the independently published novels Dahlia Cassandra and Concrete Fever. Their philosophy is that everyone needs a little magic in their realism.

“Let’s face it – adulting is hard,” write Grackle + Pigeon. “Gone are the days when life’s biggest worry was getting caught breaking curfew. Nowadays, if you stay up late, you feel awful the next day. Come on, body. Get with the program. We are adventurous young spirits ready to take the world by storm.

“Not going to lie. Ambition is exhausting. Bed cuddles are awesome. Can’t we just not deal for a while and take refuge in a pile of pillows and blankets and maybe, just maybe, redefine what adulting actually means?

“We are Grackle + Pigeon, and we’re all about getting creative visions airborne. As a husband-and-wife artistic team, we’ve collaborated across print, multimedia, and live performance – and now, we are so stoked to bring you twenty-plus variations on the pinnacle of all things awesome: blanket forts.”

Bears Love Breakfast is a fun idea for a rustic camping feel, and it is as simple to make as a couple of blankets and some sticks.

Bears Love Breakfast.

Another unique one is Ground Control, the David Bowie-themed fort, whose moon-like glow will make you want to crawl inside and listen to “Life on Mars.”

Ground Force.

There are some peaceful, whimsical ideas. Om Shanti, the Yoga fort, is clean and simple, and the perfect place to clear your mind. The decadent Garden Party is a backyard piece de resistance worthy of a wedding reception, even if it’s not the biggest one.

Garden Party.

A couple forts fit for inside the home are RPG OMG, and Office Space.

RPG OMG is the retro throwback slumber party fort for your entire living room.

RPG OMG.

Office Space will transform your home office into a pillow-forward, fluorescent-light-free work nook.

Office Space.

The book’s frontmatter outlines the basic frames that are used to create the forts, and the instructional drawings throughout show the forts’ bones, but Blanket Fort is more a lifestyle book than a craft book—one which invites people of any income to look and dream, the perfect gift for a couple moving in together or your best friend from childhood. Parents planning for a novel sleepover will also find ideas inside.

AUTHOR EVENT:

Grackle + Pigeon are doing an immersive fort event and book signing at Powehouse Arena in Dumbo on Sunday, October 7 at 2pm.

For more information: https://www.powerhousearena.com/events/book-launch-blanket-fort-by-grackle-pigeon/

NYCFC Loses In Minnesota; Red Bulls Clinch First-Round Bye

(Minnesota goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth going up to make a save – USA Today Sports)

New York City Football Club suffered a 2-1 loss in Minnesota on Saturday night, giving the Red Bulls a first-round bye in the MLS Playoffs.

NYCFC fell to 15-8-9, with 53 points, six points behind the Red Bulls (18-5-7, 59 points) with two matches to go and the Red Bulls hold the tiebreaker.

NYCFC is five points ahead of 4th-place Columbus (13-9-9, 48 points) and six points ahead of Philadelphia (14-5-12, 47 points).

Continue reading NYCFC Loses In Minnesota; Red Bulls Clinch First-Round Bye

BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Happy Cookbook” By Steve & Kathy Doocy

The Happy Cookbook: A Celebration of the Food That Makes America Smile

By Steve and Kathy Doocy

William Morrow Cookbooks; hardcover, $29.99; E-Book, $23.99; available Tuesday, October 2

Steve Doocy, one of the hosts of Fox & Friends, and his wife, Kathy have created a beautiful, full-color collection of their favorite recipes, pictures, and stories in The Happy Cookbook.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Happy Cookbook” By Steve & Kathy Doocy

Yankees Take Care Of Business In Tampa Bay

(Giancarlo Stanton rounding third base on one of his home runs on Thursday night – @Yankees)

The Yankees took three out of four in their series with Tampa Bay, and, barring a collapse in Boston this weekend, will be hosting the Wild Card game against Oakland A’s next Wednesday night at Yankee Stadium.

With the 12-1 win on Thursday, the Yankees (98-61) now hold a 2-game lead on Oakland (96-63) with just three games to play.

Continue reading Yankees Take Care Of Business In Tampa Bay

St. John’s Names Mike Cragg Athletic Director

(@StJohnsBball)

St. John’s University President Conrado “Bobby” Gempesaw, Ph.D., announced on Thursday that Mike Cragg has been selected to lead the Red Storm Athletic Department.

Cragg will become St. John’s seventh athletic director following a distinguished tenure at Duke University that spanned more than three decades. As part of his leadership role at the University, Cragg will serve on the President’s Advisory Council.

Continue reading St. John’s Names Mike Cragg Athletic Director

NYCFC Clinches Playoff Spot With Win Over Chicago

(NYCFC’s David Villa taking the ball away from Chicago’s Michael de Leeuw – USA Today Sports)

New York City Football Club clinched a playoff spot with a 2-0 win over the Chicago Fire on Wednesday night at Yankee Stadium.

NYCFC improved to 15-8-8, in third place in the Eastern Conference. They are six points behind the Red Bulls (18-5-7, 59 points) for second and six points ahead of Columbus (13-8-9, 47 points).

Continue reading NYCFC Clinches Playoff Spot With Win Over Chicago

BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Most Dangerous Branch” Of The U.S. Government? Not The One You Think

The Most Dangerous Branch: Inside The Supreme Court’s Assault On The Constitution

By David A. Kaplan

Crown; hardcover, 464 pages; $30.00

As the country is embroiled over the nomination of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court, it is time to take a step back and see what brought us to this point, why this is such a consequential moment.

In the tradition of The Nine and The Brethren, David A. Kaplan, the former legal affairs editor of Newsweek takes us inside the secret world of the Supreme Court in his new book, The Most Dangerous Branch: Inside The Supreme Court’s Assault On The Constitution.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Most Dangerous Branch” Of The U.S. Government? Not The One You Think

BrooklynFans Of Books: Belichick, An Intimate Portrait Of The Hooded Genius

Belichick: The Making of the Greatest Football Coach of All Time

By Ian O’Connor

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; hardcover, $28.00; available Tuesday, September 25

Bill Belichick is arguably the most compelling figure, as he has coached the New England Patriots for nearly two decades, and teamed up with quarterback Tom Brady for a record five Super Bowl championships.

To some in New York, Belichick is still viewed with derision for leaving the Jets one day after he was named the head coach when Bill Parcells resigned.

To others, he is viewed as the defensive genius who partnered with Parcells to win two Super Bowl championships with the Giants.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Belichick, An Intimate Portrait Of The Hooded Genius