Category Archives: Books

BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Wife” By Alafair Burke

The Wife

By Alafair Burke

Harper, An Imprint of Harper Collins, $26.99

Alafair Burke, whose profile soared with her novel The Ex, in 2016, is back with a domestic thriller, The Wife, a story that asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves.

Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Wife” By Alafair Burke

BrooklynFans Of Books: Shafransky’s Debut Novel “Tips For Living”

Tips For Living: A Gripping and Soulful Novel of Suspense

By Renee Shafransky

Lake Union Publishing; Feburary 1 2018; hardcover +  e-book

Tips for Living is the debut novel for Renee Shafransky, and it centers around a woman who has been wronged and is determined to “come back to life” following a very public, devastating divorce.

Nora Glasser fled New York City to recover from the humiliation and heartbreak of her then-husband, acclaimed painter Hugh Walker’s, infidelity.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Shafransky’s Debut Novel “Tips For Living”

BrooklynFans Of Books: Howard Kurtz On “Media Madness” In Trump Era

Media Madness: Donald Trump, the Press, and the War over the Truth

By Howard Kurtz

Regnery Publishing; $28.99, Available on January 29th

One of the overriding themes of Donald Trump’s campaign for president and his time in the White House has been his ongoing battle with the press and his repeated declarations of “fake news” on Twitter and in press conferences.

Howard Kurtz, the host of Fox News’s Media Buzz and former Washington Post columnist, offers a stunning expose of how objective journalists, alarmed by Trump’s success, have moved into the opposing camp. Kurtz uncovers how journalists have abandoned any semblance of neutrality out of their idea that they must protect the country from Trump.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Howard Kurtz On “Media Madness” In Trump Era

BrooklynFans Of Books: The Transformation Of Our Home

The New Brooklyn: What It Takes to Bring a City Back

By Kay S. Hymowitz

Rowman & Littlefield

Brooklyn has undergone one of the most stunning transformations of modern times, going from a place that was crumbling in the 1970s and ’80s into a place that is hotter than Manhattan.

The Golden Era of Brooklyn can be traced back to the ’50s, when the Dodgers were always in the World Series against the Yankees and The Honeymooners with Jackie Gleason as bus driver Ralph Kramden captivated the nation.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: The Transformation Of Our Home

BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Making Of A Dream” And The Dreamer Debate

The Making of a Dream: How a Group of Young Undocumented Immigrants Helped Change What It Means to be American

By Laura Wides-Munoz

Harper, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, published on January 30, 2018

The United States government was shut down on January 20th because the two partied could not reach a deal on the status of the Dreamers, the nearly 800,000 immigrants enrolled in the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Making Of A Dream” And The Dreamer Debate

BrooklynFans of Books: The Great Halifax Explosion & Its Brooklyn Origins

The Great Halifax  Explosion: A World War I Story of Treachery, Tragedy, and Extraordinary Heroism

By John U. Bacon

William Morrow, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

World War I was entering its fourth demoralizing year, and the Allies were hoping to break the grueling stalemate by sending thousands of fresh American troops and more munitions than ever to the trenches of France.

The French freighter Mont-Blanc set sail from Brooklyn on December 1, 1917 with a massive total of 3,000 tons of explosives aboard.

Continue reading BrooklynFans of Books: The Great Halifax Explosion & Its Brooklyn Origins

BrooklynFans Of Books: The Threat To Democracy From “Trumpocracy”

Trumpocracy: The Corruption of the American Republic

By David Frum

Harper, An Imprint of Harper Collins

David Frum, the senior editor of the Atlantic and a veteran of Republican politics, sees Donald Trump winning the presidency in 2016 as more than just a break from the past, but a threat to our democracy.

In his articles for the Atlantic and appearances on cable television, Frum has established himself as a leading critic from the political right of Trump and his administration.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: The Threat To Democracy From “Trumpocracy”

BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Gambler” Kirk Kerkorian

The Gambler: How Penniless Dropout Kirk Kerkorian Became the Greatest Deal Maker in Capitalist History

By William C. Rempel

Dey St. – An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers; Harcover, $28.99, on sale January 23rd

Kirk Kerkorian was a self-made billionaire who was a daring aviator, movie mogul, risk-taker, and business tycoon who transformed Las Vegas and Hollywood to become one of the leading financiers in American business.

Veteran investigative reporter and storyteller William C. Rempel pieces together revealing parts of Kerkorian’s life, from sources such as war records, business archives, court documents, and the recollections and recorded memories of longtime pals and relatives.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Gambler” Kirk Kerkorian

BrooklynFans Of Books: Little Soldiers

Little Solders: An American Boy, a Chinese School, and the Global Race to Achieve

By Lenora Chu

Harper 

In Little Soldiers, Lenora Chu offers a look into the insular education system of China and uses her parenting journey to launch a wider investigation into whether its educational methods are something to which the West should aspire.

In 2010, Chu found herself at the heart of the global debate between China and the western world when she and her husband enrolled their American son into the Chinese state-run school system celebrated for producing some of the planet’s top-ranking students, per the PISA education assessments.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Little Soldiers