Category Archives: Books

BrooklynFans Of Books: The Transformation Of Our Home

The New Brooklyn: What It Takes to Bring a City Back

By Kay S. Hymowitz

Rowman & Littlefield

Brooklyn has undergone one of the most stunning transformations of modern times, going from a place that was crumbling in the 1970s and ’80s into a place that is hotter than Manhattan.

The Golden Era of Brooklyn can be traced back to the ’50s, when the Dodgers were always in the World Series against the Yankees and The Honeymooners with Jackie Gleason as bus driver Ralph Kramden captivated the nation.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: The Transformation Of Our Home

BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Making Of A Dream” And The Dreamer Debate

The Making of a Dream: How a Group of Young Undocumented Immigrants Helped Change What It Means to be American

By Laura Wides-Munoz

Harper, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, published on January 30, 2018

The United States government was shut down on January 20th because the two partied could not reach a deal on the status of the Dreamers, the nearly 800,000 immigrants enrolled in the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Making Of A Dream” And The Dreamer Debate

BrooklynFans of Books: The Great Halifax Explosion & Its Brooklyn Origins

The Great Halifax  Explosion: A World War I Story of Treachery, Tragedy, and Extraordinary Heroism

By John U. Bacon

William Morrow, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

World War I was entering its fourth demoralizing year, and the Allies were hoping to break the grueling stalemate by sending thousands of fresh American troops and more munitions than ever to the trenches of France.

The French freighter Mont-Blanc set sail from Brooklyn on December 1, 1917 with a massive total of 3,000 tons of explosives aboard.

Continue reading BrooklynFans of Books: The Great Halifax Explosion & Its Brooklyn Origins

BrooklynFans Of Books: The Threat To Democracy From “Trumpocracy”

Trumpocracy: The Corruption of the American Republic

By David Frum

Harper, An Imprint of Harper Collins

David Frum, the senior editor of the Atlantic and a veteran of Republican politics, sees Donald Trump winning the presidency in 2016 as more than just a break from the past, but a threat to our democracy.

In his articles for the Atlantic and appearances on cable television, Frum has established himself as a leading critic from the political right of Trump and his administration.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: The Threat To Democracy From “Trumpocracy”

BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Gambler” Kirk Kerkorian

The Gambler: How Penniless Dropout Kirk Kerkorian Became the Greatest Deal Maker in Capitalist History

By William C. Rempel

Dey St. – An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers; Harcover, $28.99, on sale January 23rd

Kirk Kerkorian was a self-made billionaire who was a daring aviator, movie mogul, risk-taker, and business tycoon who transformed Las Vegas and Hollywood to become one of the leading financiers in American business.

Veteran investigative reporter and storyteller William C. Rempel pieces together revealing parts of Kerkorian’s life, from sources such as war records, business archives, court documents, and the recollections and recorded memories of longtime pals and relatives.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “The Gambler” Kirk Kerkorian

BrooklynFans Of Books: Little Soldiers

Little Solders: An American Boy, a Chinese School, and the Global Race to Achieve

By Lenora Chu

Harper 

In Little Soldiers, Lenora Chu offers a look into the insular education system of China and uses her parenting journey to launch a wider investigation into whether its educational methods are something to which the West should aspire.

In 2010, Chu found herself at the heart of the global debate between China and the western world when she and her husband enrolled their American son into the Chinese state-run school system celebrated for producing some of the planet’s top-ranking students, per the PISA education assessments.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Little Soldiers

BrooklynFans Of Books: A Chat With Jesse Mecham, Author Of “You Need A Budget”

You Need A Budget

By Jesse Mecham

Harper Collins Business, On Sale December 26

Jesse Mecham is the founder of YNAB, or You Need A Budget, the award-winning personal finance platform.

YNAB was founded in 2004 when Mecham and his new wife Julie were broke and, since they were students with big dreams and very few dollars between them, knew they needed to watch their money.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: A Chat With Jesse Mecham, Author Of “You Need A Budget”

BrooklynFans Of Books: Dick Gregory’s Defining Moments In Black History

Defining Moments in Black History: Reading Between the Lies

By Dick Gregory

Amistad: An Imprint of Harper Collins Publishers

Comedian and activist Dick Gregory was a provocative, incisive, and comedic force to be reckoned with for over 50 years.

Gregory made his mark as a groundbreaking performer who used satire to reflect on racial issues in America, and dedicated most of his life to social activism.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Dick Gregory’s Defining Moments In Black History

BrooklynFans Of Books: Looking At Legendary QBs First Coaches

My First Coach: Inspiring Stories of NFL Quarterbacks and Their Dads

By Gary Myers

Grand Central Publishing

Gary Myers, the NFL columnist for the New York Daily News regarded as the dean of football writers, has added to his collection of seminal works with My First Coach, examining legendary quarterbacks and their fathers.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Looking At Legendary QBs First Coaches

BrooklynFans Of Books: Pride & Prejudice & Mistletoe

Pride & Prejudice & Mistletoe

By Melissa de la Cruz

St. Martin’s Press

Pride and Prejudice is one of Jane Austen’s most famous works, and bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz applies her own twist to the classic.

In Pride & Prejudice & Mistletoe, the setting is Christmas and the roles are reversed,  and it is Miss Darcy, who is endearing but a bit snooty, and Luke Bennett, characterized as a sexy slouch.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Pride & Prejudice & Mistletoe