Category Archives: Books

BrooklynFans Of Books: Belichick, An Intimate Portrait Of The Hooded Genius

Belichick: The Making of the Greatest Football Coach of All Time

By Ian O’Connor

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; hardcover, $28.00; available Tuesday, September 25

Bill Belichick is arguably the most compelling figure, as he has coached the New England Patriots for nearly two decades, and teamed up with quarterback Tom Brady for a record five Super Bowl championships.

To some in New York, Belichick is still viewed with derision for leaving the Jets one day after he was named the head coach when Bill Parcells resigned.

To others, he is viewed as the defensive genius who partnered with Parcells to win two Super Bowl championships with the Giants.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Belichick, An Intimate Portrait Of The Hooded Genius

BrooklynFans Of Books: How A Postal Detective Took Down Gangsters

Inspector Oldfield and the Black Hand Society: America’s Original Gangsters and the U,S. Postal Detective that Brought Them to Justice

By William Oldfield and Victoria Bruce

Touchstone; hardcover, $26.00

With the FBI still in its infancy in the first decade of the 20th century, the only American law enforcement agency with enough savvy and muscle to take down organized crime was the United States Postal Inspection Service.

Letters, goods, cash, and gold made its way through the Post Office system, and any crime committed through U.S. mail, anywhere in the world, fell under the jurisdiction of the Post Office Inspectors.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: How A Postal Detective Took Down Gangsters

BrooklynFans of Books: The Fall Of Rick Pitino, Face Of Corruption In College Sports

(Former Louisville Head Coach Rick Pitino – Photo by Jason Schott)

The Last Temptation Of Rick Pitino: A Story of Corruption, Scandal, and the Big Business of College Basketball

By Michael Sokolove

The Penguin Press; hardcover, $27; available September 25

It has been a year since college basketball was rocked by the epic corruption scandal involving Adidas, Louisville University, and many other colleges.

Large payments were laundered from Adidas through a network of coaches and fixers to athletes and their families to induce them to Adidas-branded college programs.

Continue reading BrooklynFans of Books: The Fall Of Rick Pitino, Face Of Corruption In College Sports

BrooklynFans Of Cookbooks: Almonds, Anchovies, and Pancetta

Almonds, Anchovies, and Pancetta: A Vegetarian Cookbook, Kind Of

By Cal Peternell

William Morrow Cookbooks; hardcover, $25.99; eBook, $20.99; available Tuesday, September 25

Cal Peternell’s cooking is very traditional, drawing on how people have eaten for generations, using vegetables as the center of the plate, seasoned with a little bit of meat or fish to create a delicious and satisfying meal.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Cookbooks: Almonds, Anchovies, and Pancetta

BrooklynFans Of Books: “Applied Empathy” By Michael Ventura

Applied Empathy: The New Language Of Leadership

By Michael Ventura

Touchstone; hardcover; $26.00

Michael Ventura has been brought in by big companies like Nike, General Electric, and Google, as well as the United Nations and West Point, to help them apply empathy to better connect their brands, their messages, and their campaigns with their audience or customers.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: “Applied Empathy” By Michael Ventura

BrooklynFans Of Books: Fashion Icons Iris Apfel & Bill Cunningham

(Iris Apfel)

Two of the grreatest icons of the New York fashion scene are costume designer Iris Apfel and the late Bill Cunningham, legendary fashion photographer of the New York Times. 

Apfel, 96 years old, chronicles her extraordinary career in her autobiography Accidental Icon, and Cunningham left behind a memoir, Fashion Climbing, about the early stages of his illustrious career.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Fashion Icons Iris Apfel & Bill Cunningham

Great American Read: The Book Of Books; Companion To PBS Series

The Great American Read: The Book of Books

As Featured In The PBS Series; Foreword by Meredith Vieira

Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers; hardcover, $29.99

Explore some of the most beloved books of all-time in the beautiful illustrated book, The Great American Read: The Book of Books, the companion to PBS’s ambitious series.

The Great American Read started in May when America’s 100 best-loved novels, which were determined by a rigorous national survey, were revealed.

Continue reading Great American Read: The Book Of Books; Companion To PBS Series

BrooklynFans Of Books: Basketball Greats On The Love Of The Game

(Photo above: Barclays Center during a Brooklyn Nets game – credit: Jason Schott)

BASKETBALL: A Love Story

By Jackie MacMullan, Rafe Bartholomew, and Dan Klores

Crown Archetype; hardcover, $30.00; available Tuesday, September 18

Two of the most well-respected basketball journalists today, Jackie MacMullan and Rafe Bartholomew, collaborated with award-winning director Dan Klores to tell the comprehensive story of the game of basketball in its many compelling dimensions.

They have produced BASKETBALL: A Love Story, a groundbreaking work based on interviews with more than 170 of the greats of the game.

Continue reading BrooklynFans Of Books: Basketball Greats On The Love Of The Game