NYCFC Kicks Off Third Season Sunday

(NYCFC forward Khiry Shelton celebrating his goal against FC Dallas at Yankee Stadium last September. USA Today Sports)

New York City Football Club begins their third season in the MLS this Sunday at Orlando City.

Patrick Vieira will be entering his second season as the head coach, and European soccer legends David Villa and Andrea Pirlo will be back for their third season in New York. English soccer star Frank Lampard retired in the offseason after two injury-filled years with NYCFC.

The home opener at Yankee Stadium will be on Sunday, March 12. They will then host the Montreal Impact on Saturday, March 18, and the San Jose Jose Earthquakes on April 1. All three games have 2 p.m. kickoffs.

There will once again be three NYCFC -Red Bulls derbies, with the first in the series to take place on Saturday June 24 at Red Bull Arena, which will air on FOX.  The teams will next play at Yankee Stadiumon Sunday August 6 (FS1) before another match at Red Bull Arena on Friday August 25 (ESPN).

Patrick Vieira’s side meet the new MLS Cup champions Seattle in the Bronx on Saturday June 17 (ESPN), just 12 days before welcoming Minnesota United for the first time on Thursday June 29.

There will be two meetings with Minnesota’s fellow Expansion Team Atlanta, with the first of these clashes taking place at Yankee Stadium on Sunday May 7 (UNIV) and the game in Atlanta arriving later in the same month on Sunday May 28 (ESPN).

A first chance for NYCFC to get some MLS Playoffs revenge will be on Wednesday July 19 when Toronto are the visiting team in New York (TSN) and there’s a quick ten-day turnaround for the game in Canada which is slated for Sunday July 30 (ESPN, TSN).

NYCFC round off the 2017 campaign on home soil in the same way as they finished 2016, with Columbus Crew providing the opposition for the final regular season game on Sunday October 22.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *